Granada High School

Visual & Performing Arts Department

The California State Framework for the Visual and Performing Arts identifies that each of the arts contains a distinct body of knowledge and skills that characterize the power of each to expand the perceptual, intellectual, cultural and spiritual dimensions of human experience. This capacity of human beings to create and appreciate the arts is one of many reasons to teach the arts in schools. Study and practice in the arts refines a student’s abilities to perceive aesthetically, to make connections between works of art and the lives of people, and to discuss visual, kinesthetic and auditory relationships. Students learn to locate works of art in time and place, make reasoned judgments about them, and investigate how artworks create meaning. The UC/CSU system requires a one-year (two-trimester) course of study of one visual or performing art.

For a list of Visual & Performing Arts courses, with descriptions, please see the Course Catalog and Planning Guide.

art 1.jpg Art 2.jpg ART2.jpg ceramics.jpg ceramics2.JPG CERAMICS2#.jpg digital photo.JPG digital photo2.jpg DIGPHOTO2.jpg video.jpg video 2.JPG VIDEO2.jpg

VPA Teachers

Bailey, Deborah
Digital Photography Teacher
Department Chair
dbailey@lvjusd.k12.ca.us

Christopher Filice

Music Teacher

cfilice@lvjusd.k12.ca.us

Jones, Tom
Music Teacher
tjones@lvjusd.k12.ca.us

Mach, Marcie

Ceramics Teacher

mmarcie@lvjusd.k12.ca.us

Nick Nirva

Music Teacher

nnirva@lvjusd.k12.ca.us

Pickering-Walters, Keith
Video Productions/Studio Broadcast Teacher
kpickering@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Thournir, Laura
Art Teacher
lthournir@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Watts, Jefrey
English/Drama Teacher
jwatts@lvjusd.k12.ca.us